Real Wedding… Anna and Mat: first anniversary of our perfect wedding day

♥ To see more from this blog, click through to our new site.

I’m not bragging! It just was completely and wonderfully perfect to us. To me that’s what makes a great wedding – when it’s a true match with the bride and groom.

This may be a little self indulgent but I thought it was about time you learned a bit more about me. And come on, it’s my anniversary, so show me some love!

As soon as we set foot in the Crab and Lobster in North Yorkshire we knew it was where we’d celebrate our wedding.

Crab and Lobster

It wasn’t the most convenient option – getting married in the nearby church meant many Sunday mornings taken up with two-hour round trips – but we knew it was somewhere we and our guests would remember forever. Not least for the 9ft yeti in the hallway and ‘secret’ beer tap – if you can find it you can help yourself to free beer for the rest of the night!

It’s a little pocket of magic, a wonderland just off the A1. It’s a de-clutterer’s worst nightmare – nick-nacks and trinkets fill every shelf, wall and ceiling space. But it’s adorned in history: someone leaves behind a tie, or a hat, and it’s incorporated into the decor. You feel that you’re not just having your wedding there, you’re becoming part of the culture, of a very special family.

The rooms are individually themed on famous hotels and the private hot tubs are a godsend for weary feet after dancing the night away. The food is divine and – as the name suggests – it’s renowned for great seafood.

Crab Manor

  • My beautiful bridesmaids

    When it came to styling, Betty started it. As soon as I saw this wonderful design range from Sugalily I knew it was the one. We chose the pale green design with white polka dots and pink-purple writing and ribbon that the lovely Abbey matched perfectly from the bridesmaid dress material.

    We carried the green with white spots theme throughout the day, into bunting, favour wrapping, gift tags, place cards, menus and table numbers. A relative who’s a textile designer recreated the design so I could print it out at home and keep costs down. My local florist made my beautiful flowers including the bridesmaids’ real rose hair accessories and the centrepieces, which were sprigs of hydrangea in (borrowed!) Ikea vases.

    I roped my whole family into helping. One of the most special aspects of the wedding experience, for me, was the days I spent with my parents, planning, crafting, preparing, laughing and remembering.

    The greatest dad in the world, with my first pair of ballet shoes

    My dad helped make the table plan from the frame of an old mirror which had smashed (two years down and no bad luck yet) and my mum made the bunting, and much more. I bought the material from eBay at about £5 a metre. It’s Globaltex sage green ‘lulu stripe’, ‘dotty’ and ’tilly’. I decorated white and wicker hearts with silk flowers and collected jam jars which I wrapped in ribbon in my theme colours and used to hold candles. Our favours were, for the girls, heart-shaped organza bags which I filled with lavender (bought from Ebay) and, for the men, mini jars of chutney made with freshly-picked ingredients from Nicholson’s Herb Farm (Nicholson was my new surname!)

    I was blown away when I saw the cake my aunt made…

    The fancy dress went down a storm – we went cheesy with a surprise Elvis impersonator so had rock star glasses for the guys and Hawaiian garlands for the girls.

    It always makes me smile when I get to the page of the album full of photos like these.

    Elvises are in the building

    My chief bridesmaid

    From the start our only philosophy for the day was fun. There were no instructions, except for people to come and have a good time. And hopefully we achieved it.

    We had a blissful honeymoon in Sri Lanka and Kuramathi in the Maldives.

    Need to know: Dress, Pronovias from Hoops-a-Daisy; Bridesmaids, Belsoie from Gorgeous Brides; Flowers, Caroline’s florist, Wakefield; Photography, James Images

    2 Comments (+add yours?)

    1. debihawkinskins
      Oct 20, 2011 @ 16:15:29

      this has got to be the best wedding ive ever been to – including my own – BOTH of them!! Fabulous day from start to end made even better by knowing how much love had gone into the preparation by Anna. Congrats on getting to year one and heres to many more!! The Crab and Lobster was a superb venue, many memories were made that day!!

      Reply

    2. James Clark
      Sep 12, 2011 @ 20:16:09

      Happy 1st Anniversary Anna & Mat.
      As someone who spent all day with you both I can confirm your wedding day was something special, filled with Love and so much fun. Being your photographer I had such a great time. The weather was ideal, the location perfect and it went like a dream thanks to your excellent preparation. Best wishes with the blog Anna and congratulations on your first wedding anniversary. Kind Regards James (aka Pete)

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

